Indian and South African cricketers got here collectively to ship a robust message towards discrimination forward of the Boxing Day Take a look at match on Sunday. Whereas the South African workforce took a knee to help the ‘Black Lives Matter’ trigger, Indian gamers positioned their palms on their hearts to affix the worldwide wrestle and ship a message of unity from one of many world’s largest sporting platforms.

Following the completion of each groups’ nationwide anthems, the gamers took to the sector to start the primary Take a look at. Earlier than the on-field umpire signalled the beginning of the primary innings, South African gamers knelt to reveal their anti-racism gesture. The workforce led by Virat Kohli joined in by inserting their palms over their hearts, sending a robust message of solidarity at a time when the world is affected by bigotry, significantly in the direction of individuals of color.

This is not the primary time the Indian workforce has made an anti-racism gesture. The Males in Blue had been additionally seen kneeling in the course of the 2021 T20 World Cup. Indian gamers took a knee in protest of prejudice of their first match of the event towards Pakistan, whereas their Pakistani counterparts adopted swimsuit by inserting their palms over their hearts. Racism has been directed at Indian athletes on numerous events, the newest of which was the incident involving Mohammed Siraj in Australia.

India vs South Africa: Boxing Day Take a look at

So far as the primary Take a look at match between India and South Africa is anxious, the Virat Kohli-led aspect received the toss and elected to bat first on the SuperSport Park in Centurion. KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal have opened the batting for India and had been on the crease on the time of writing. The Proteas, then again, have misplaced a evaluate whereas difficult a choice involving KL Rahul. 

India Enjoying XI: KL Rahul (vice-captain), Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shardul Thakur, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj.  

South Africa Enjoying XI: Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Temba Bavuma, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Quinton de Kock, Wiaan Mulder, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Duanne Olivier, Lungi Ngidi. 

Picture: PTI


Supply hyperlink